Friday Fictioneers – The Petals

Holy Crow, where did the month go? I’ve missed the Fictioneers for a few weeks but it’s good to be back. With any luck, I’ll not have such a hiatus again soon. Hello, again, to our gracious hostess, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields who’s always there to welcome a wayfarer back to the herd. This piece is adapted from a scene in my current novel-length work-in-progress, Lily of the Valley.

https://thereclininggentleman.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt © The Reclining Gentleman

The Petals – 100 words

Lily dropped the petals into empty Monongahela air. Two for Gabe, who never said goodbye. Loves me, loves me not.

Two for Philip, who’d wanted her, used her. Loves me, loves me not.

One for Emory. Daddy loves me. He taught me bird songs. I was his doll. Dresses, dreams, laughter and promises. A snowfall of petals, one for every memory.

But one petal remained. Emory had been afraid, not for her, but of her, and sent her away.

He loves me not. The last petal drifted down, carried away on the north-bound current. Daddy, why couldn’t you love me?


20 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Petals

  1. The falling petals were a good visual of her loveless life. There would be nothing harder than feeling that your father did not love you. I wonder about the fact that he was afraid of her. Had the father abused her and that was why all the dresses and promises. I think I will have to read your book to find the whole details.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. That’s a sad scene. Emory started out well, it seems, but didn’t deliver in the long run. I’m thinking he wanted her to remain his baby forever, and rejected her when that wasn’t possible. A very intriguing set of relationships here. Love the image of the petals.

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

