Friday Fictioneers – Rivalry

I’m a bit late to the Fictioneers get-together this week. I’ve been ears-deep in manuscript revisions and query-polishing. I’m grateful for any positive thoughts, prayers, or good wishes you share as I take the next baby step.  As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting the Fictioneers crew. A super-sized helping of more stories await just behind the frog.

Photo Prompt © Madison Woods

Sibling Rivalry – 101 words

“I don’t know why you let Bat get to you, Luna. Owl had it covered. Can we please get back to the trees? I’m full of eggs with nowhere to lay them, and not getting any younger.”

Luna fluttered her antennae. “That smell. It’s better than pheromones. I’d love a taste.”

“Taste? Ha! I’ve got two words for you, Luna. ‘Vestigial mouthparts.’”

I’d stick out my tongue if I still had one, Luna thought. “Remember your pre-morph days, Polly? Eighty-six thousand times your weight in maple leaves.”

“Bitch.”

“Why do you have to be so mean?”

“Mom always liked you best.”


Too bad the warm fuzzies of their family reunion didn’t last. That story’s here.

10 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Rivalry

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

