Friday Fictioneeers – Reunion

Last week was our own reunion; this week plays with the same theme. Do you recognize anyone in this bunch, perhaps even yourself? As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting the Fictioneers crew. More stories await; Froggy with lead the way.

Photo Prompt © Madison Woods

Reunion – 101 words

They gather in the clearing, restless with anticipation. Wolf and Cougar post their guard.

Cricket chirps his canticle by Firefly light; Mouse critiques the song with squeaks. Raccoon and Mink resume their hide-bound rivalry, Skunk disdains them both.

Owl, the eldest night-child, calls, assurance and admonition. A billowing ribbon of daughter Moths subdue their fears and light; Owl will not hunt them tonight. Bat is not so principled.

Clouds snag on treetops, shred on winds aloft, unveil the face of ancient Mother Luna.

Bathed in moon-glow her children’s eyes open wide to receive her blessing. Bat alone cannot see her beauty.


18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneeers – Reunion

  1. I absolutely love this – it totally absorbed me. I have read it 3 times already and I suspect I will read it many more. A very lovely, magical and clever piece. Really love it!

    (I’d like to be Moon; sometimes I’m Owl; sometimes I’m Bat!!)

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

