Friday Fictioneers – NeverBeen

Welcome back to the Fictioneers’ Playhouse. Wednesday–another photo, it must be time for another bit of flash. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields is our gracious hostess, and a talented author. I’ve been staying up way too late (3:00 a.m. – or is that early?) reading her latest, Please Say Kaddish For Me. Good read.

This place and Sandra’s picture are far too lovely for the melancholy that follows. You’re allowed to blame my fit of gloom on sleep deprivation.

https://castelsarrasin.wordpress.com/

Photo Prompt © Sandra Cook

NeverBeen – 98 Words

I cannot leave this life behind
I cannot cut the ties that bind
The close horizon locks my shackle chains.
There is no distance.

Fear the light, abhor the sun,
Hate the future, lose the fun,
Dread to live a life that’s unrestrained,
Not mere existence.

I am a rat. I know this maze.
I know the twisting, turning ways
The well-worn paths amid these canyon halls
of man-carved stone.

I find my grain; I find my bed;
I live between my feet and head,
Prisoned in the cells that line these walls.
I am alone.


You know where the frog goes, right?

13 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – NeverBeen

  1. Dear Kimberly,

    Rhyming poetry has never been one of my strong suits so I’m quite impressed with your verses. Well done.

    And thank you for plugging my book. Sorry about the missed sleep…well, maybe not all that sorry. 😉

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Kim a nice poetic touch to the life of a rat. But certain ways it is us humans as well running through the life’s hurdles and maze. The sleepy you did a terrific job. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

