Friday Fictioneers – The Colonists

Welcome back. Wednesday–another picture, another story. Rochelle Wisoff-Fields is our hostess. I’ve just downloaded her recent release, Please Say Kaddish For Me. I’m looking forward to the weekend to jump in and read. Speaking of reading, this week’s Fictioneer tale clocks in at 100 words exactly. I like when that happens. Please let me know what you think!

https://bumbastories.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt © Stephen Baum

The Colonists – 100 words

The Light? No-one believed that myth. We could barely see. Scent, touch, taste: these were real.

And hearing. I discerned Lepta’s off-beat gait, a counterpoint amid the echoing shuffle. My heart warmed at her scent. Then she vocalized. “Parapon, come. I’ve found it!”

Fragrant, but oh, so loud. “It?” I shrugged.

She stroked my back, “The Way.”

I held, uncertain.

“Come, and see.” She wove a path; I had to follow. We slipped through a new crack into an ancient tunnel. I heard hundreds—thousands—more trailing behind.

Up, up we climbed, into Light, and learned what Eyes were for.


More Fictioneers here:

26 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Colonists

  1. Beautiful. Wonderful details and descriptons of their interactions of touch, smell and sound. The title is very suggestive, too. I want to know what they colonised and why, and if the colonising is of the darkness or the light – maybe both. Loved it.

    Like

  2. Great story, Kimberly. I wanted to write about a subterranean something or other this week but couldn’t seem to find the right story. This one is perfect. Great work.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

  3. Great story. I hope their eyes can one day get used to the light, or they’ll all be running back down into the dark!
    This could be part of a larger work for sure.

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

