Friday Fictioneers – Inspiration

Good to be back after a week off… didja miss me? This week’s prompt comes from our own gracious hostess, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. I’m getting a crick in my neck from thinking about examining this fixture up close. This piece hits close to home. (Which is why you won’t find me back at NaNoWriMo this year.) I owe a huge debt of thanks this week to my friend, the hyphen. I couldn’t have done it this week without you, buddy.

https://rochellewisofffields.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt – ©Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Inspiration – 100 Words

You pound on the keyboard for hours. For days. Ones and zeroes of electronic blood and there is no sense in it. The muse, the bitch, mute. Still you type, reduced to transcribing snippets of sex-sells advertising and sound-bite commentary and canned-laugh one-liners seeping through the floor from the soul-sucking wide-screen monster downstairs just to keep your fingers in motion.

Mustn’t stop. To keep the oxygen-starved dreams at bay, the ones of choking on gum and hair and rags, you must write, and white pages fill with finger-vomited brain-sludge.

Then you breathe. Read. Hmmm. That’s not bad.

Time to edit.


17 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Inspiration

  1. Loved it. The people I work with (and my supervisors) are of the opinion that since I’ve written a book, all business communication that needs to be in written form should be assigned to me. They don’t understand there’s a huge difference between writing humor and bland, fact-based (there’s that hyphen) business junk. Oh well, it pays the bills.

    Like

  2. Some days, this is exactly how I feel. I own a web-content company, and when I’m in the middle of a mind-numbing project, there are times I feel as though I’m passing files full of jargon and sweet-nothings off to clients. And then they respond that they love what I wrote about plumbing or insurance or hotels in France, and I move on. Friday Fictioneers is always a welcome romp into a more creative space for me.

    All my best,
    MG

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Who is forcing you to do this? Let us know and we’ll sort them out. And call the cops.
    That is such descriptive writing, and from the heart, I assume.
    (Your muse, eh? Possibly belongs to the same lodge as mine. A bad bunch.)

    Like

  4. Sounds familiar. And indeed in quite a similar vein to my story this week! I desperately wanted to keep my word count down by hyphenating “light bulb” but felt that would be a hyphen too far 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ah… I didn’t get it either, so thank you for the clarification (like it matters at all if the reader “gets” how the photo prompt INSPIRES the writer) – HA! See what I did there? No? Yeah, I don’t really either. Must be time for caffeine.

        Very clever 100 words, Kim.

        Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

