Friday Fictioneers – Monster Ball

Thanks to Doug for this week’s prompt. Though my story this week veers into the shadows, the photo made me smile. Plesiosaurs are among my faves, even metallic, skeletal ones. As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting the merry band of Fictioneers, and thanks to you for reading and sharing. Your comments and criticisms are welcome.

https://ironwoodwind.wordpress.com
Photo Prompt “Pleisiosaur” © Douglas M. Macilroy

(I hate dolls. This is why.)

Monster Ball – 102 Words

Articulating joints and counter-weighted eyelids were fleshed in plastic, dressed in tulle.

Tatiana held the doll by her jeweled crown. One toe shoe en pointe on berber carpet, the other Arabesque. A turn of the jewel switched her mechanism on. Wire tendons groaned, spasming the lower limb.

Another turn spurred a grinding pirouette. Expressionless painted blue irises met brown ones. Tati shrieked, and let go the jeweled crown.

Plastic and tulle fell, a clockwork seizure. Blue irises stared, unblinking. “Papa,” Tatiana pleaded, “turn it off.”

The switch was broken, the batteries missing.

Tati’s dream perished: Tutu and toe shoes; ashes and dust.

For more Fictioneers, follow the frog:

12 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Monster Ball

  1. Maybe a bit of oil is required! Now I’m getting a Stephen King-esque horror vibe off this creepy ballerina doll 🙂
    I liked the way the line “Tutu and toe shoes” rolls off the tongue.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Kimberly,

    I had a Patty Play Pal doll as a child. She was the size of a three year old. I used to have nightmares about her. It wasn’t until I was an adult and the nightmares started again that i kicked Patty to the curb. No regrets. Some of those toys are just spooky.

    Good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ii agree with you – some of those dolls are grotesque. And not just the antique ones – I shudder at what the cabbage patch produces, too. However they’re very popular. Your story is very evocative. I love your description of the doll’s ‘seizure’.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hi, Kimberly. I like the story and the language is amazing, but I’m not really clear about what happened. Obviously the dream of dancing didn’t work out quite right, but what exactly is the mechanism, and whose eyes are brown?

    Always a pleasure to read these stories, Kimberly. I hope I’m not just being dense today.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

    1. Thanks for the feedback, MG. The doll was a battery-powered mechanical ballerina. I was given one as a child and the noises it made “going through the motions” terrified me. Think Chucky meets Tchaikovsky 😉 Tatiana’s (the girl’s) eyes were the brown ones.

      Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

