Friday Fictioneers – The Leavings

It bothers me more than it should that I don’t know the name of this plant. I’m the one who walks through gardens and nurseries with a notepad, reading all the tags and jotting down names. I think my mother would know. As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting and thanks to you for reading. Your comments, especially concrit, are appreciated.

https://santoshwriter.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt © Santoshwriter

The Leavings – 100 Words

She taught by talking. “That fuzz on the oak stem is a wasp gall,” and “Marigolds alongside tomatoes repel cutworms,” and “Red sky at night, sailor’s delight.”

She taught by doing. Engulfing my unblemished fingers; both of us guiding the iron over Daddy’s snowy handkerchiefs.

She taught by example. Rising early. Working long. Praying, without ceasing.

“Why are raindrops round?” my young one asks, and I know.

“A sphere holds the most volume with the least surface area.”

Her unblemished finger touches my cheek. “Why are teardrops round?”

Mother always hid her tears. Not I. “They hold the most memories.”

 

 

32 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Leavings

  1. A wonderful picture of the mothers and daughters. I love how you’ve managed to include so many examples of how the love continues on through the generations, in everyday moments and gestures.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Beautiful.

    Had I had (no, not “had”; rather “made”) time to pull the prompt and been inspired to write, it would NOT have gone anywhere near where you went!

    Just beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oooh this is a lovely story. Much bigger than it looks. You did a fantastic job establishing the characters of the narrator and her mother – how they are alike, and how they differ. All round excellent writing!

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

