Friday Fictioneers – Longing

Deepest apologies for missing the boat the last two weeks, fellow Fictioneers. It’s good to be sailing away again, to explore what stories lie just over the horizon. As always, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting, and thanks to you for stopping by. More 100-word drabbles behind the frog. Hop on!

http://40again.com/
Photo Prompt © Dee Lovering

Longing  – 101 words

I dreamt I was falling from a height.

‘Tis a rude awakening to find oneself surrounded by strangers. What revelry far below? Will the magistrates quiet this crowd?

My shoulder aches. I’ve slept funny, or have I grown so stiff with age?

My balance is off. Good mercies! I wonder can they peek up my tunic?

I seem to have become quite useless; the only question I might accurately answer is: Which way did they go? And what good be knowing if one cannot follow?

To see the sea, and not to sail, alas. I might as well be in Pisa.

23 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Longing

  1. You led me into the statue character’s mind very skilfully. I love the words you gave him – so ‘olde-worlde’. What a terrible predicament to find oneself in! I loved this.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i get this feeling that he has overslept too long. many centuries have passed him by. his contemporaries are long gone. now he has to deal with all these tourists. 🙂

    Like

  3. Cool!

    Enjoying your 100-words-or-so fictionettes.I dunno if I’ll ever actually participate from the comfort of my own blog, but if I were so inclined, how would I begin? Is there somewhere I have to register or commit myself (God forbid!)?

    Like

    1. Welcome, Emelle. The photo prompts are found at Rochelle’s blog, Addicted to Purple. You will find a link in my introduction. You will need to set up an account only to access, copy, and paste each week’s link-up (the blue frog) into your own post, and, if you wish, link-up your own post to the weekly page (the site you land on when you click on said blue frog.) Sounds complicated, but if I can do it, anyone can. It’s a great community 😉

      Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

