Friday Fictioneers – Play On

The Friday Fictioneers’ band is tuning up. Every week a new picture, and new story, 100 words or so. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting. I appreciate your time, comments, and criticism. If you really like what you read, please share with a friend. To hear solos by the rest of the band, click on the blue frog.

Photo Prompt © David Stewart

Play On – 99 words

Gary’s wife bellowed down the stairs. “Would you stop that infernal racket? That saxophone’s giving me a migraine.”
“Where are you going with my hedge clippers?” Tom hollered at Britany.
“I bought a case of fluorescent bulbs just last week. Wonder where they disappeared to?” muttered Sam.
The soft green lawn is clipped with more care than the Mayor’s crewcut. The gazebo sports fresh white paint; its bird-topped weathervane gleams like the pin in his wife’s straw hat.
Few townspeople realize, and fewer still appreciate the preparation. But when the waltz floats across the midsummer evening, they all dance.

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Play On

  1. Dear Kimberly,

    As I read the first three lines I thought there were too many characters for a flash fiction. However by mid story it became clear. I went back for a second read. Very nicely done and perfect in detail.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Kimberly,
    I really love the characters you introduce to us as you set up the story. The flow is great.

    Sometimes formatting can be an issue in WordPress. I find that adding three * between paragraphs in my flashes I can help the reader move from scene to scene more effortlessly.

    ***

    Still, you’ve written a well-rendered response to the week’s prompt.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love the sense of bustle, and the mayor and his wife with her hat – it all works together to create a wonderful atmosphere and setting. The ending is perfect.

    Like

  4. I can imagine them all bustling round beforehand making everything perfect. I bet the townspeople would notice if it weren’t perfect come the dance!
    A very idyllic sounding scene at the end.

    Like

  5. It reminds me of a sweet little English village, where all the people take pride in their surroundings.
    It is true what you write, that we do not usually see all the effort that goes into something, even if it appears to be very small.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. It’s the little things that make up simple pleasures. A paper-wrapped pretzel warm in the hand, the first firefly of summer, a meadowlark’s call in the twilight. Your piece is sweet like that.

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

