Friday Fictioneers – Lost in Foundation

The challenge each week: A new picture, a new story. Beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting. The pond might be iced over but Froggy below is still hopping. Click on him to read more from February’s Frozen Fictioneers. If you like what you read, please let me know, and share with a friend.

https://mariegailstratford.wordpress.com/
Photo Prompt – “Crystals” ©Marie Gail Stratford

Lost in Foundation – 99 words

It started with one crack. In the drywall. Settling. No big deal. We spackled, repainted and went on about our business.

The drafts around the windows were next. The cold started seeping in and we caulked. Added more weather stripping.

Last March, during that rainy spell, the roof leaked around the chimney. The flashing had pulled right away from the shingles, but we drew on the line of credit. Paid a guy to jack up the sill plate.

Today, the windows shattered. All of them, at once. And for the life of me, I can’t see a way clear.

24 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Lost in Foundation

  1. The joys of home ownership. Not! “The Money Pit” sprang to mind for me as well, although I only saw the previews. But having owned an older home for 28 years, I have a feel for this, although thankfully nothing like this every happened.

    janet

    Like

  2. I’m trying to work out how you manage to be laugh out loud funny and scary at the same time… Touches a nerve definitely.
    Last year when we had new radiators installed the dining room ceiling fell in leading to…I won’t go on.
    MJ

    Like

  3. Excellent story and I can just see this. Our son’s house has been a Money Pit house too. Basement wall caved in toward house two feet, the sewage system has backed up twice. All the kitchen appliances had been broken (on purpose) and all the carpet had paint poured on it. Also, it was infested with vermin (on purpose) too. The people who had owned it prior had lost it to the bank and decided to trash the house – taking all light fixtures and it was so sad. Today, it is a model home, it took them over 9 months to make it inhabitable and fix all five bathrooms (they have 5 kids so needed a large house). But, it is beautiful and they are proud of it with it’s 2.5 acres in town. Love your story, and your fixer-upper. If younger, we would buy another one of those. Excellent story and I enjoyed it. Nan 🙂

    Like

  4. Having once lived in a house that was succumbing to subsidence, I can recognise the signs. I also had a relationship on-going at the time that was suffering a similar fate. Fortunately the latter concluded more swiftly. Nice allegory.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like quite the money pit, with perhaps just a bit of supernatural thrown in. I was going to say I understood, since our walls have developed cracks along the top…but then I kept reading. Luckily no broken windows yet. 🙂
    -David

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Kimberly,
    Sounds like a house of horrors! I’ve never been a homeowner, but one of my fears is that once I finally do purchase my own home I’ll end up with a money pit. You encapsulated those feelings and added a touch of dark magic in your story this week. Nice work.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

