Friday Fictioneers – Vanishing Point

The challenge each week: A new picture, a new story. Beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting. Hop on the blue frog below; he’ll lead you to the Fictioneers’ pond where more stories await, and you can add your own. Please share your thoughts and invite your friends.

Photo Prompt - "Balcony" © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
Photo Prompt – “Balcony” © Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Vanishing Point – 100 words

How did you come to be so clean? Pickets slick and cold. An artifice of timber. Cobblestones wear paint of hard, gray clay. Chimneys are not breathing. What sense in polished windows and closed blinds?

Do you remember the cut of my plow? I sowed good seed. You bore good fruit. Pumpkins, corn, and beans. This is no apple tree. Your grass is green, not grazed. Beautiful and barren, you’ve forgotten. Dust. Smoke. Blood and toil, sweat and tears.

Those who labor long deserve their sleep. And though I sleep, I live.
But you, Lovely, have died.


 

16 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Vanishing Point

  1. This is really good. The neatness of the scene struck me, too, on first viewing, and I toyed with some ideas along those lines, but nothing came. Reading yours, I’m glad I didn’t, because you’ve done it so well. I love your images, and the voice of the vanished farmer. Great.

    Like

  2. Ok, I’m going to admit that I’m not sure who is talking to whom here – A farmer long buried speaking to his old field – the house speaking to the land… Either way Carol is spot on, the imagery is great.

    Also the title – the picture’s perspective vanishing point, the point of vanishing of the farmland for urban areas… great stuff.
    KT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Such an interesting piece. I love how you’ve pulled together the imagery in this piece, it really gives a fantastic impression of the contrast between rural and urban with the two merging from one to the other. “Do you remember the cut of my plow? I sowed good seed.” alone gives such depth to the character, it’s really brilliant.

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

