Friday Fictioneers – The Picnic

The challenge each week: A new picture, a new story. Beginning, middle, and end, in 100 words. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for hosting. Click on the blue frog at the bottom to read the works of other Fictioneers. And please, let me know what you think; your comments are encouraged.

Photo Prompt © -Georgia Koch

The Picnic – 100 words

In the boat, I slept, and dreamed.

One glorious afternoon. We drifted somnolently down the canal; my fingertips trailed watermarks through the inky reflections of overhanging branches. We spread a quilt on the bank, and shared crusty bread and warm cheese, beneath the shade of a mossy oak, and our laughter startled the swallows into flight.

He woke me, and kissed me goodbye. And though we never met after that day, I knew then, as now, that “Farewell” did not mean “Forever.”

I keep the gratitude of King and Country, and the love of our child. And still I dream.

34 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – The Picnic

  1. Dear Kimberly,

    The third sentence in your second paragraph needed not a one of those ubiquitous comas. It flows like the stream without them and I think you ought to think about the sound of your sentences as written and without the commas. The whole story was beautiful and lyrical, though I am unable to sort out the King and Country reference. On the whole, it has so much going for it that I felt I must mention what I did. Keep after it.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    Like

  2. Argh, I’ve been reading way too much horror, was expecting the dreamy romance feeling to lead to some sort of awful demise-twist.

    Actually was really glad it didn’t go there, this time.

    Lovely mood-setting, btw.

    Liked by 2 people

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

