Friday Fictioneers – Phobia

The gondola halted. I trembled.

“We’ve bought tickets.” His nudge stiffened me. “Get on.” My chin turned left; shoulders followed.

A hand grasped mine. “What’s your name?” she asked. I told her. “Mine too! Hold my hand and watch me.” So I reached the beautiful mountaintop, holding hands and breathing.

Twelve vacations later, we stepped toward the mouth of the cavern. A girl stiffened as her father nudged her. “We’ve bought tickets,” he hissed.

I took her hand. “What’s your name?” She told me. “Mine too,” I lied. “Hold my hand and watch me.” So we descended into beautiful darkness.

18 thoughts on “Friday Fictioneers – Phobia

  1. I popped back here after the holidays mostly because I lost track of where I left off in my reading. This time I actually read your blog title, Kim, as well as the Willa Cather quote. Love it!!! Keep making soap.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Kimberly,

    First, welcome to Friday Fictioneers. I’ll warn you. Once you start it’s hard to stop. 😉

    I like the way this story came full circle, although I have to wonder about the narrator. Nice bit of writing. I look forward to reading more from you.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    Like

  3. Beautiful story, Kim! So glad to have you playing along with our ragtag band of bards and storytellers. Keep up the good work. I hope you keep coming back for more.

    All my best,
    Marie Gail

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

