The Murderous Thing

I have done a murderous thing. I’ve killed off “Gray Matters.” I recognized I had jumped too soon on the name as soon as I clicked the <publish> button. So here we are, reborn.

“Commendable Soap” and the tagline are a nod to Willa Cather’s essay “On the Art of Fiction” from 1920. “Writing ought either to be the manufacture of stories for which there is a market demand — a business as safe and commendable as making soap or breakfast foods — or it should be an art, which is always a search for something for which there is no market demand, something new and untried, where the values are intrinsic and have nothing to do with standardized values.”

I believe artistic fiction and marketable fiction are not mutually exclusive. My primary intention is to manufacture stories – commendable stories with meaningful content – that will also sell. The more the merrier. Else how shall we attain the goal of having Darling Hubby be a kept man for the second half? If you, dear readers, find some artistic merit in my prose, consider it frosting on the cake.

One thought on “The Murderous Thing

  1. I didn’t know about “Gray Matters” but when I read that in this post, I was momentarily confused by your identity. You see, I have a friend from high school who is a journalist in Houston. Her last name is Grey (or possibly Gray, I forget), so that was the title of her column. She may or may not still use that title, and if she doesn’t, then the timing of the “killing” of it is too coincidental NOT to have stopped me in my tracks.

    Weird. Syncronicity? Maybe, maybe not. That’d be a good title for an album, dontcha think?

    Like

Let me know what you think. Constructive Criticism is golden.

